Republic of Vietnam Armed Forces Order of Battle - Airborne.

Submitted by Richard A. Rinaldi 1999


In 1955, the Airborne Group had 1st, 3rd, 5th, 6th and 7th Para Bns; it was redesignated in 1959 as the Airborne Brigade.

2nd Para Bn was created before Mar 1965 and 1st Abn Art Bn created sometime 1965; two more parachute battalions were authorized Nov 1965 (8th and 9th?). The six battalions in Mar 1965 were located: one in I CTZ, three in II CTZ, and two in III CTZ.

On 1 Dec 1965 all of these units grouped as the Airborne Division

11th Para Bn and 2nd and 3rd Abn Art Bns and three recon coys were created later; the ninth battalion operational at end of March 1968.

These were grouped into three brigades:

  • 1st Brigade: 1st, 8th and 9th Para Bns; abn art bn; recon coy
  • 2nd Brigade: 5th 7th and 11th Para Bns; abn art bn; recon coy
  • 3rd Brigade: 2nd, 3rd and 6th Para Bns; abn art bn; recon coy

In 1974, the Airborne Division was supplemented by raising the 4th Airborne Brigade. It was operational by Jan 1975.


HOME | Whats New | Search Site | The War | Wargaming | Reviews | Bibliography | Miscellaneous
Delta Mike 2 | Links | News Page | Glossary | Email | Rate This Site | Feedback

Retrieved by Memoweb from at 02/12/01